StateScoop 50 Awards honor government’s best

StateScoop is thrilled to announce the winners of the 2014 StateScoop 50 Awards, which honor the best and brightest that make state and local government more efficient and effective.

Donlan is a nominee for the StateScoop 50 Awards in the Industry Leadership category.

StateScoop is thrilled to announce the winners of the 2014 StateScoop 50 Awards, which honor the best and brightest who make state and local government more efficient and effective.

More than 50,000 voters logged on to StateScoop last month to narrow down hundreds of reader nominations in six categories to determine the 50 visionary leaders, programs and rising stars that best highlight the transformational changes being made in state and local government.

“My team and I were delighted by the tremendous number of nominations and votes we received from our readers, ” said Goldy Kamali, CEO of FedScoop. “We are thrilled to recognize the extraordinary accomplishments of the top 50 state IT leaders from government and tech who are making meaningful contributions to their organizations and communities.”


The winners were honored with a reception at the Hilton Baltimore on Thursday that celebrated their efforts over the past year and acknowledged their tireless efforts to make a positive impact in the government community and public service.

StateScoop 50 Winners

Golden Gov: State Executive of the Year

  • Claire Bailey, Arkansas Dept. of Information Systems
  • Sonny Bhagowalia, State of Hawaii
  • Stu Davis, State of Ohio
  • Brian Digman, New York Office of Information Technology Services
  • Tony Encinias, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
  • Sam Nixon, Virginia Information Technologies Agency
  • Mark Van Orden, State of Utah
  • Craig Orgeron, Dept. of Information Technology Services, State of Mississippi
  • Carlos Ramos, California Dept. of Technology
  • Karen Robinson, Texas Dept. of Information Resources
  • Tim Robyn, State of Missouri
  • Kristin Russell, Colorado Governor’s Office of Information Technology
  • James Sills, Delaware Dept. of Technology & Information
  • Sean Vinck, State of Illinois
  • Brunson White, State of Alabama

State Leadership Award

  • Paul Baltzell, State of Indiana
  • David Behen, State of Michigan
  • John Conley, Colorado Statewide Internet Portal Authority
  • Adel Ebeid, City of Philadelphia
  • Chris Estes, State of North Carolina
  • David Fletcher, State of Utah
  • Rachel Haot, State of New York
  • Peter Miller, Orange County (Fla.) Information Systems & Services
  • Tony Parham, Commonwealth of Massachusetts
  • Bill Schrier, Office of the CIO, State of Washington
  • Vennard Wright, Prince George’s County, Md.

Industry Leadership 

  • Randy Anderson, HP
  • Doug Bourgeois, VMware
  • Alec Chalmers, Adobe
  • Gregg Descheemaeker, Intel
  • Mike Donlan, Microsoft
  • Steven Halliwell, Amazon Web Services
  • Josh Nisbet, CGI
  • John Stuhrenberg, AT&T
  • Rick Webb, Accenture

State Innovation of the Year

  • Academy of Municipal Innovation, City of Philadelphia Office of Innovation & Technology
  • iDrive Arkansas, Arkansas Highway Transportation Dept.
  • GoCode Colorado, Colorado Secretary of State
  • Maryland Vision Certification Service, Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration
  • State of Maine Transformation, State of Maine Office of Information Technology

State IT Program of the Year 

  • Arkansas Auditor of State Unclaimed Property Program, Arkansas Auditor of State
  • Delaware eGovernment Program, Government Information Center, Delaware Dept. of State
  • Indiana Bus Inspection Application & Public Portal, Indiana State Police
  • New Jersey Taxation Data Warehouse, State of New Jersey Division of Taxation
  • State of Hawaii Transformation Internship Program, Office of Information Management & Technology and Dept. of HRD

State Up & Comer/Most Inspiring Newcomer

  • Amy Baillargeon, Texas Dept. of Information Resources
  • Ashley Del Bianco, City of Philadelphia, Office of Innovation & Technology
  • Jennifer Buaas, Texas Dept. of Information Resources
  • Bryan Dreiling, State of Kansas, Office of Information Technology Services
  • Rajiv Rao, New York State Chief Technology Office

StateScoop Staff

Written by StateScoop Staff

StateScoop Staff StateScoop Staff 82

Latest Podcasts