Technology organization honors Texas CISO


Written by

T.E.N., a national technology and security executive networking organization, recently named Brian Engle, the chief information security officer of Texas, the Information Security Executive of the Year Award winner for the ISE Central Region.

Engle was honored along with the other finalists Wednesday at an awards gala in Dallas.

Engle advises the executive leadership of nearly 200 independent agency and higher education organizations on protecting state government information resources, and he oversees statewide cybersecurity strategy and the enterprise security program, operations and services, along with serving as the Texas cybersecurity coordinator.

“[Engle’s] leadership style includes leading by example by refusing to be outworked by anyone, communicating openly and constantly, and creating collaborative environments with consensus approaches that involve a high degree of personal ownership and buy-in,” T.E.N. said in a statement.

The ISE Central awards recognize both information security executives and projects for outstanding achievements in risk management, data asset protection, compliance, privacy and network security.

I want to thank Marci McCarthy, Jennifer Tanner and the team at T.E.N. for recognizing my heroes, colleagues, and fr

— Brian Engle (@brianaengle) June 12, 2014

Award winners were selected from the U.S. Southeast region, which includes Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas and Wisconsin.

Shawn Irving, senior manager of information security services, and Scott Pettigrew, chief security officer for HMS, were also honored during the event as finalists in the executive category. Jason Witty, chief information security officer for US Bancorp, was named the 2014 ISE Central People’s Choice Award Winner.

T.E.N.’s Information Security Executive of the Year Program Series and Awards, is North America’s largest leadership recognition and networking program for security professionals. Previous winners come from organizations such as Nike, The Walt Disney Company, the United States Postal Service, Schlumberger, Texas Instruments, JPMorgan Chase & Co., Equifax, Comcast, PayPal, Northrop Grumman Corporation and Nationwide.

-In this Story-

States, Texas