Virginia Cyber Security Commission holds first meeting


Written by

Governor McAuliffe Kicks Off Inaugural Meeting of the Virginia Cyber Security Commission

Today, Gov. McAuliffe kicked off the inaugural meeting of the Virginia Cyber Security Commission, a group established by executive order which will bring public and private sector experts together to make recommendations on how to make Virginia a leader in cyber security. Speaking to the commission’s 17 members at George Mason University, Gov. McAuliffe emphasized the urgency of growing Virginia’s cyber industry to both enhance the commonwealth’s security capabilities and expand economic opportunity.

“It is my great pleasure to welcome Chair Richard A. Clarke and all the members of the Virginia Cyber Security Commission to this exciting and groundbreaking first meeting. As Governor, I must address the challenge of securing and protecting our citizens and economy. But I also see cyber security efforts as an opportunity – to build upon our vast cyber and military assets that we have in the Commonwealth to drive economic development.”

Gov. McAuliffe’s message was echoed by Cyber Security Commission Co-Chair Richard A. Clarke:

“I am extremely honored to serve as Co-Chair of this commission and excited to work with everyone here to make Virginia the driving engine behind cyber security innovation and economic development, and to establish the commonwealth’s leadership in this field as a model for the nation.”

Today’s meeting agenda included official administering of the oath of office for the commission members, briefings from cyber industry leaders, and in-depth discussions on the current state of Virginia’s burgeoning cyber industry. The commission’s members agreed to break out into working groups to better tackle the many layers and aspects that fall under the broad umbrella of cybersecurity. The focuses of these subgroups will include: modernizing infrastructure, driving economic growth, strengthening education and workforce development, and promoting improved cyber hygiene.

Gov. McAuliffe established the Cyber Security Commission in February through Executive Order (EO8). The commission is co-chaired by Secretary of Technology Karen Jackson and Richard A. Clarke, who served as senior White House adviser on national security to Presidents Obama, Bush, and Clinton. The Cyber Security Commission’s 17 members include cabinet officials from Governor McAuliffe’s administration, cyber security business leaders, and academic researchers.

More information can be found on the Commission’s website:

Release on Executive Order (EO8)

Release on appointees to Virginia Cyber Security Commission

-In this Story-

cybersecurity, Tech News